Skip to content

A blueprint for strawberries

June 28, 2012

Summer is this awesome time full of fresh food, sunlight, and (for me at least) the temptation to pick pounds and pounds of amazing fruit. In past years, the produce has overwhelmed me, and left me slaving over a canning pot at four in the morning in a desperate race against time and rotting berries.

This year, I went in with a plan, and triumphed over the u-pick strawberries. In case you’re still engaged in that battle I know so well, here’s my blueprint for 26 pounds of strawberries.

At least four pounds went into our hands and mouths.

Another four pounds went into jam.

A pound went into strawberry ice cream, and another into strawberry and cream biscuits.

A whole lot, like ten pounds of a lot, got flash-frozen and are now tucked into the freezer for next winter. And the rest went into strawberry daiquiris. Six pounds worth of strawberry daiquiris.

I get that daiquiris might not be the most fashionable drink. Which is a shame, and I wonder if it might have something to do with the fact that these days, they’re often made with sugar syrup and no fruit to speak of.

But these might change your mind.

Strawberry Daiquiris
Makes four or five drinks, depending on your pouring.

4 cups sliced strawberries
1 cup white rum
3 ounces frozen limeade
1 cup crushed ice or 12 ice cubes
whipped cream (optional)

Combine the first four ingredients in a blender, and blend until smooth. Taste, and adjust to your preference. Top with whipped cream if desired.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. z-unit permalink
    June 29, 2012 4:50 am

    Ack, I forgot to ask if you had any strawberries left over that I could use for pie. I guess I could just go pick my own… Also, I know I seemed less than enthusiastic about the daiquiris, but they were pretty damn good! [Is that seriously how you spell "daiquiris"? Weird.]

    • FoodLines permalink*
      June 29, 2012 7:43 pm

      Let’s pick berries! But not this weekend, I guess. Or, uh, next weekend. When exactly do you need this pie?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

